Athy Heritage Centre-Museum

  • Famine/Rebellion Room
  • Religious Diversity Room
  • Shackleton Exhibition
  • World War 1 Exhibition


Athy is a designated HERITAGE TOWN OF IRELAND and the Athy Heritage Centre-Museum focuses on the history of Athy and the surrounding area.


"The Crossing of the Antarctica" Photography Exhibition

25 October 2014 - 5 December 2014

"The Crossing of the Antarctica" Photography Exhibition is being shown for the first time in Ireland in Athy Heritage Centre Museum, running until Friday 5the December. The exhibition tells the story of the epic first crossing of Antarctica by the Commonwealth Trans-Antarctic Expedition of 1955-58. The exhibition features prints from the original film of pioneering expedition photographer, the late George Lowe, and is complemented by artefacts. A book accompanying the exhibition is on sale in the museum.
Download Press Release (PDF)

Click for more

This project acknowledges the support of KELT and the LEADER Plus programme which is funded by the Irish Government and part-financed by the European Union under the National Development Plan, 2000 – 2006.